Pairs Qualifying – Barossa Valley 19 Jan

A bumper field of 34 players headed north to the Barossa Valley Golf Club @ Nuriootpa for Pairs Qualifying.  The weather was mild, overcast with a few spots of rain.
The course had preferred lies and the fairways were a funny green colour (yellow) but scoring was hot.
A big thankyou to Peter Robinson for doing BBQ duties solo , especially as he was still reeling from Warren Smith deserting him as a partner in the pairs.
For the first time in awhile we had 16 pairs qualifying, no byes this year.
The winner for the day with a handicap destroying 43 pts was Tony Mudge. 2nd place went to Warren Smith 40pts. There was a three way countback for 3rd to 5th with Ray McCard 3rd 39 pts (22 pts back nine), 4th Keith Johns (21pts) and 5th Alan Hincks (19pts). Rounding out the top 6 with a three way countback was Darren Bartholomew 38 pts (18pts back nine).
Longest drive went to Dave Wilmshurst while nearest to the pins were Brett Stewart (par3) and a birdie and Darren McCard (par4). NAGA for the day Ben Smart 24 pts.
Next game in 2 weeks at Aston Hills for singles qualifying (top16) go through.
Pairs Qualifying 1st round.
  1. Wilmshurst/Smith v 16) D Mccard/McPhedran
  2. A Hincks/Rigby v 15) Wootton/McKenzie
  3. Bartholomew/Greenshieldsv 14) Scott & Ben Smart
  4. Shepard/Bennett v 13) Wallace/Poser
  5. W McCard/M Smart v 12) Adam/Robinson
  6. Stewart/Pike v 11) Smith/Larcombe
  7. R McCard/Kellett v 10) Sandercock/Matthews
  8. Coulthard/Mudge v McLaren/Mather

4th Ave Deli Trophy – 5 Jan

The 2020 Ingle Farm Golf Tour got under way at the traditional opening round at Echunga.

24 golfers faced cool overcast conditions. Light rain was around early but by the end of the round conditions were fine.

Even though a few players had some practice rounds in between seasons scoring was tough with only 2 players breaking their handicap.

The winner for the day with 38 pts was Brett Stewart. 2nd place went to Damian Murphy 37. 3rd was returning bionic man Randy Wallace scoring 36. There was a 5 way countback for 4th – 6th. 4th scoring 33 pts with 20 on the back nine was Dee Mac, 5th was Ivan Wootton (19 on the back) and 6th was Greg Adam (17 on the back).

NAGA for the day was Graham Sandercock 22pts.

Longest drive went to David Mclaren while nearest to the pins were Dave Wilmshurst (Par3) and Peter Robinson (Par4).

Thanks to the bbq chefs… Martin Smith, Darren Bartholomew and Randy Wallace.

Thanks to Wayne Best for pot of gold duties.